Page 1 of 3

Mission Possible B

Posted: August 13th, 2019, 12:00 pm
by windu34
Mission Possible B: Prior to the competition, participants design, build, test and document a Rube Goldberg-like device that completes required Start and Final Actions through a series of specific actions.

Mission Possible Wiki Wiki

Mission Possible Image Gallery

Past Threads: 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: September 3rd, 2019, 10:49 pm
by Umaroth
I don't know about everyone else, but I really like this year's rules compared to the old div b ones, this year is much closer to the div c mission. I wish I were still in div b to do this.

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: September 4th, 2019, 5:22 am
by Unome
Umaroth wrote: September 3rd, 2019, 10:49 pm I don't know about everyone else, but I really like this year's rules compared to the old div b ones, this year is much closer to the div c mission. I wish I were still in div b to do this.
That's probably because you didn't see the 2014-2015 iteration of the Mission C rules, which were transfer-based like the 2016-2017 B rules.

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: September 29th, 2019, 11:05 am
by Manas101
I don't get some parts of the rules.
1. Are the scorable actions the only actions that counts?
2. What exactly are non-scorable actions?

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: September 29th, 2019, 4:26 pm
by Umaroth
Manas101 wrote: September 29th, 2019, 11:05 am I don't get some parts of the rules.
1. Are the scorable actions the only actions that counts?
2. What exactly are non-scorable actions?
1. Yes, scorable actions, plus the timing action, start action, and end action are the only ones that can count for points.
2. Non-scorable actions are those that are not listed under scorable actions but are used to bridge scorables actions. For example, if you use the sailboat task to push a golf ball, which then hits the dominoes for the domino task, the rolling golf ball would be a non-scorable action because it led up to the next action, but it is not listed as an action that can get you points.

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: October 24th, 2019, 9:05 am
by LittleMissNyan
Are you allowed to have the golf ball from the Starting action go through a scorable action and then the Final Action, or would that not be allowed?

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: October 25th, 2019, 6:47 pm
by builder83
LittleMissNyan wrote: October 24th, 2019, 9:05 am Are you allowed to have the golf ball from the Starting action go through a scorable action and then the Final Action, or would that not be allowed?
I don't think you can.

3.a.iv. Talks about each moveable object only being used once. I had a similar question. The only object allowed to be used twice is that initial/final golf ball, so using it 3 times probably does not work.

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: December 8th, 2019, 2:31 pm
by LittleMissNyan
Ok now that I actually know what I'm doing
Let's say there is a block of wood with a hole drilled in it for the tee, and then I hot glue a cardboard tube onto. Would the tube and the wood block be considered the tee holder or just the wood block? Do they have to be made of the same material?

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: December 9th, 2019, 6:53 am
by nateDC
LittleMissNyan wrote: December 8th, 2019, 2:31 pm Ok now that I actually know what I'm doing
Let's say there is a block of wood with a hole drilled in it for the tee, and then I hot glue a cardboard tube onto. Would the tube and the wood block be considered the tee holder or just the wood block? Do they have to be made of the same material?
The tube wouldn't be able to be higher than a certain amount on the tee, but if it's attached to the tee holder, then it's part of the tee holder. Unsure was the tube would do for you, but here you go.

Re: Mission Possible B

Posted: December 9th, 2019, 1:48 pm
by Havocgamer49
builder83 wrote:
LittleMissNyan wrote: October 24th, 2019, 9:05 am Are you allowed to have the golf ball from the Starting action go through a scorable action and then the Final Action, or would that not be allowed?
I don't think you can.

3.a.iv. Talks about each moveable object only being used once. I had a similar question. The only object allowed to be used twice is that initial/final golf ball, so using it 3 times probably does not work.
Actually, at Chattahoochee Invitational, our school's C team had a start action which triggered the water action, the water action raised the start ball 5cm and then the start ball went and completed the final action.

The judges allowed this, and they placed 14th, so I think it is allowed, but maybe those judges did not know the rules clearly?

Just putting those facts out there.