Page 13 of 24

Re: Designs

Posted: January 26th, 2015, 4:12 pm
by Cheese_Muffin_Man
Would anyone like to give a shot at calculating a maximum possible score? :D Obviously, we cannot determine for sure since it is hard to predict how small a team can make their device.

Re: Designs

Posted: January 26th, 2015, 5:11 pm
by Flavorflav
goodcheer wrote:
olympiaddict wrote:
What I don't understand is this FAQ:
http://soinc.org/node/1525

Can anyone help me figure out how a component could be used to life a golf ball several times but not used in the transfers again? Would it be when you have M-M steps etc. separating it from the transfers?

A lift could be used to lift several golf balls (one at a time, each one triggering the next one), but these golf balls would only receive 2 points each. If the lift was used to lift a golf ball that began a transfer (an ETS transfer), then it can only be used once according to the statement, "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." A Transfer or ETS is worth 50 points each, so you have to work harder for these points.
I don't agree with this reading of the FAQ, which says " the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence." The golf ball initiates the sequence, but is not a part of it IMO.

Re: Designs

Posted: January 26th, 2015, 6:01 pm
by SWAnG
The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?

Re: Designs

Posted: January 26th, 2015, 6:07 pm
by bernard
SWAnG wrote:The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
Does this answer your question?

Re: Designs

Posted: January 26th, 2015, 8:44 pm
by wlmeng11
Flavorflav wrote:
goodcheer wrote:
olympiaddict wrote:
What I don't understand is this FAQ:
http://soinc.org/node/1525

Can anyone help me figure out how a component could be used to life a golf ball several times but not used in the transfers again? Would it be when you have M-M steps etc. separating it from the transfers?

A lift could be used to lift several golf balls (one at a time, each one triggering the next one), but these golf balls would only receive 2 points each. If the lift was used to lift a golf ball that began a transfer (an ETS transfer), then it can only be used once according to the statement, "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." A Transfer or ETS is worth 50 points each, so you have to work harder for these points.
I don't agree with this reading of the FAQ, which says " the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence." The golf ball initiates the sequence, but is not a part of it IMO.
I agree with your interpretation. So long as the lift itself was listed as a unscored action instead of part of an ETS, I don't see why it wouldn't be allowed.

Re: Designs

Posted: January 27th, 2015, 8:15 am
by Flavorflav
*edit* Nevermind, I see that there is a new version of the spreadsheet on soinc. It is scoring for size now, but it still doesn't rank teams, though - I get a #REF error for TB, Rank and Score. This was also the case last year.

Can you try putting in the number of teams in cell D1? If not, email me at peterh at caltech.edu with your scoresheet and I'll take a look. Thanks!

ETA:Doh! I was putting the # of teams in the wrong place. Thanks for the reply!

Re: Designs

Posted: January 27th, 2015, 8:45 am
by SWAnG
wlmeng11 wrote:
Flavorflav wrote:
goodcheer wrote:

A lift could be used to lift several golf balls (one at a time, each one triggering the next one), but these golf balls would only receive 2 points each. If the lift was used to lift a golf ball that began a transfer (an ETS transfer), then it can only be used once according to the statement, "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." A Transfer or ETS is worth 50 points each, so you have to work harder for these points.
I don't agree with this reading of the FAQ, which says " the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence." The golf ball initiates the sequence, but is not a part of it IMO.
I agree with your interpretation. So long as the lift itself was listed as a unscored action instead of part of an ETS, I don't see why it wouldn't be allowed.
That's what I hope the interpretation is as well, however you can never really know unless an FAQ is released. I also wonder whether the component can be scored the first time it is used.

Re: Designs

Posted: January 28th, 2015, 9:45 am
by goodcheer
The question of lifting golf balls for an ETS just got a major update in the FAQ and from the new ASL. Apparently you don't have to lift the golf balls for an ETS to score points. If that is correct why even lift golf balls for the 2 points each one would receive??? This unimaginable reversal might cause some major overhauls to be attempted at this late date. In my opinion this just went from a high school to a middle school event. It will definitely help us.

Source: http://soinc.org/node/1479
Source: http://soinc.org/sites/default/files/up ... an26v2.pdf

Re: Designs

Posted: January 28th, 2015, 2:39 pm
by goodcheer
bernard wrote:
SWAnG wrote:The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
Does this answer your question?
There appears to be a contradiction in these two FAQs. One says all golf balls must start below the jug. The new one says no. Someone should clear this up quickly as teams are in high gear making preparations.

Re: Designs

Posted: January 28th, 2015, 4:25 pm
by chalker
goodcheer wrote:
bernard wrote:
SWAnG wrote:The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
Does this answer your question?
There appears to be a contradiction in these two FAQs. One says all golf balls must start below the jug. The new one says no. Someone should clear this up quickly as teams are in high gear making preparations.
I'm not sure I understand what the contradiction is.

From: http://soinc.org/node/1500
Yes, all golf balls must start completely below any of the scoring jugs except for the first golf ball.

From: http://soinc.org/node/1479
No. Neither the initiating nor the final golf balls need to be scoreable balls in order for an ETS to be eligible for scoring.