
Designs
-
- Member
- Posts: 179
- Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:20 pm
- Division: C
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 0
Re: Designs
Would anyone like to give a shot at calculating a maximum possible score?
Obviously, we cannot determine for sure since it is hard to predict how small a team can make their device.

-
- Member
- Posts: 1388
- Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:06 am
- Division: Grad
- State: NY
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Designs
I don't agree with this reading of the FAQ, which says " the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence." The golf ball initiates the sequence, but is not a part of it IMO.goodcheer wrote:olympiaddict wrote:
What I don't understand is this FAQ:
http://soinc.org/node/1525
Can anyone help me figure out how a component could be used to life a golf ball several times but not used in the transfers again? Would it be when you have M-M steps etc. separating it from the transfers?
A lift could be used to lift several golf balls (one at a time, each one triggering the next one), but these golf balls would only receive 2 points each. If the lift was used to lift a golf ball that began a transfer (an ETS transfer), then it can only be used once according to the statement, "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." A Transfer or ETS is worth 50 points each, so you have to work harder for these points.
-
- Member
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:22 pm
- Division: C
- State: MN
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 0
Re: Designs
The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
-
- Administrator
- Posts: 2416
- Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 3:12 pm
- Division: Grad
- State: WA
- Pronouns: He/Him/His
- Has thanked: 179 times
- Been thanked: 759 times
Re: Designs
Does this answer your question?SWAnG wrote:The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
"One of the ways that I believe people express their appreciation to the rest of humanity is to make something wonderful and put it out there." – Steve Jobs
-
- Member
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:58 pm
- Division: C
- State: CA
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 0
Re: Designs
I agree with your interpretation. So long as the lift itself was listed as a unscored action instead of part of an ETS, I don't see why it wouldn't be allowed.Flavorflav wrote:I don't agree with this reading of the FAQ, which says " the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence." The golf ball initiates the sequence, but is not a part of it IMO.goodcheer wrote:olympiaddict wrote:
What I don't understand is this FAQ:
http://soinc.org/node/1525
Can anyone help me figure out how a component could be used to life a golf ball several times but not used in the transfers again? Would it be when you have M-M steps etc. separating it from the transfers?
A lift could be used to lift several golf balls (one at a time, each one triggering the next one), but these golf balls would only receive 2 points each. If the lift was used to lift a golf ball that began a transfer (an ETS transfer), then it can only be used once according to the statement, "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." A Transfer or ETS is worth 50 points each, so you have to work harder for these points.
Palo Alto High School
-
- Member
- Posts: 1388
- Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:06 am
- Division: Grad
- State: NY
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: Designs
*edit* Nevermind, I see that there is a new version of the spreadsheet on soinc. It is scoring for size now, but it still doesn't rank teams, though - I get a #REF error for TB, Rank and Score. This was also the case last year.
Can you try putting in the number of teams in cell D1? If not, email me at peterh at caltech.edu with your scoresheet and I'll take a look. Thanks!
ETA:Doh! I was putting the # of teams in the wrong place. Thanks for the reply!
Can you try putting in the number of teams in cell D1? If not, email me at peterh at caltech.edu with your scoresheet and I'll take a look. Thanks!
ETA:Doh! I was putting the # of teams in the wrong place. Thanks for the reply!
Last edited by Flavorflav on Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Member
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:22 pm
- Division: C
- State: MN
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 0
Re: Designs
That's what I hope the interpretation is as well, however you can never really know unless an FAQ is released. I also wonder whether the component can be scored the first time it is used.wlmeng11 wrote:I agree with your interpretation. So long as the lift itself was listed as a unscored action instead of part of an ETS, I don't see why it wouldn't be allowed.Flavorflav wrote:I don't agree with this reading of the FAQ, which says " the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence." The golf ball initiates the sequence, but is not a part of it IMO.goodcheer wrote:
A lift could be used to lift several golf balls (one at a time, each one triggering the next one), but these golf balls would only receive 2 points each. If the lift was used to lift a golf ball that began a transfer (an ETS transfer), then it can only be used once according to the statement, "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." A Transfer or ETS is worth 50 points each, so you have to work harder for these points.
-
- Member
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:09 am
- Division: B
- State: KY
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: Designs
The question of lifting golf balls for an ETS just got a major update in the FAQ and from the new ASL. Apparently you don't have to lift the golf balls for an ETS to score points. If that is correct why even lift golf balls for the 2 points each one would receive??? This unimaginable reversal might cause some major overhauls to be attempted at this late date. In my opinion this just went from a high school to a middle school event. It will definitely help us.
Source: http://soinc.org/node/1479
Source: http://soinc.org/sites/default/files/up ... an26v2.pdf
Source: http://soinc.org/node/1479
Source: http://soinc.org/sites/default/files/up ... an26v2.pdf
-
- Member
- Posts: 155
- Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:09 am
- Division: B
- State: KY
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: Designs
There appears to be a contradiction in these two FAQs. One says all golf balls must start below the jug. The new one says no. Someone should clear this up quickly as teams are in high gear making preparations.bernard wrote:Does this answer your question?SWAnG wrote:The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
-
- Member
- Posts: 2107
- Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:30 pm
- Division: Grad
- State: OH
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 56 times
Re: Designs
I'm not sure I understand what the contradiction is.goodcheer wrote:There appears to be a contradiction in these two FAQs. One says all golf balls must start below the jug. The new one says no. Someone should clear this up quickly as teams are in high gear making preparations.bernard wrote:Does this answer your question?SWAnG wrote:The new FAQs are unclear, for a golf ball to be scoreable must they start below still? Or can they just have to end up below at some point?
From: http://soinc.org/node/1500
Yes, all golf balls must start completely below any of the scoring jugs except for the first golf ball.
From: http://soinc.org/node/1479
No. Neither the initiating nor the final golf balls need to be scoreable balls in order for an ETS to be eligible for scoring.
Student Alumni
National Event Supervisor
National Physical Sciences Rules Committee Chair