What is considered as combined action?

Locked
Devinszhang
Member
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: October 25th, 2019, 8:51 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

What is considered as combined action?

Post by Devinszhang »

This is a little unclear actually. For example, I can have a 3:1 gear ratio system directly pull a 2:1 MA pulley system. Will that violate the rule?
AwesomeSauceis1
Member
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: September 24th, 2018, 1:09 pm
Division: C
State: CA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by AwesomeSauceis1 »

Devinszhang wrote: November 3rd, 2019, 6:50 am This is a little unclear actually. For example, I can have a 3:1 gear ratio system directly pull a 2:1 MA pulley system. Will that violate the rule?
No, because the actions occur in sequence. The gear system is directly triggering the pulley system (note there is no minimum gear rotation before the trigger).
User avatar
sprabhu3190
Member
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: November 12th, 2019, 6:14 pm
Division: B
State: WA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by sprabhu3190 »

Wait...one of the acions is making the golf ball float (iv) and another is the floating object one (x) could you make the floating object be the golf ball after it is raised up or would that be combining actions?
:geek:
User avatar
IHateClouds
Member
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: February 1st, 2019, 3:58 pm
Division: C
State: PA
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by IHateClouds »

Wait...one of the acions is making the golf ball float (iv) and another is the floating object one (x) could you make the floating object be the golf ball after it is raised up or would that be combining actions?
I think that would violate line iv. in construction parameters general requirements that each movable/adjustable object can all by used by one action
Flavorflav
Member
Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 7:06 am
Division: Grad
State: NY
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by Flavorflav »

Plus, golf balls don't float.
User avatar
nateDC
Member
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: November 30th, 2018, 4:13 pm
Division: C
State: MD
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by nateDC »

Flavorflav wrote: November 20th, 2019, 5:27 am Plus, golf balls don't float.
You'd have to use some sort of float with your golf ball....
I can't think of anything else to put here, so I just wrote this...
Edlc1
Member
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: December 13th, 2019, 6:07 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by Edlc1 »

AwesomeSauceis1 wrote: November 3rd, 2019, 12:45 pm
Devinszhang wrote: November 3rd, 2019, 6:50 am This is a little unclear actually. For example, I can have a 3:1 gear ratio system directly pull a 2:1 MA pulley system. Will that violate the rule?
No, because the actions occur in sequence. The gear system is directly triggering the pulley system (note there is no minimum gear rotation before the trigger).
I have a 3:1 ratio gear system that drives the screw / wing nut action. The gear makes the wing nut go the 2 cm to complete the screw / wing nut action. At our last invitational ES said this was a parallel action. Ruled for gears do not state minimum rotations only to start the next action, which mine does. Comments please.
builder83
Member
Member
Posts: 178
Joined: September 7th, 2017, 4:41 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: What is considered as combined action?

Post by builder83 »

Edlc1 wrote: December 13th, 2019, 9:28 pm
AwesomeSauceis1 wrote: November 3rd, 2019, 12:45 pm
Devinszhang wrote: November 3rd, 2019, 6:50 am This is a little unclear actually. For example, I can have a 3:1 gear ratio system directly pull a 2:1 MA pulley system. Will that violate the rule?
No, because the actions occur in sequence. The gear system is directly triggering the pulley system (note there is no minimum gear rotation before the trigger).
I have a 3:1 ratio gear system that drives the screw / wing nut action. The gear makes the wing nut go the 2 cm to complete the screw / wing nut action. At our last invitational ES said this was a parallel action. Ruled for gears do not state minimum rotations only to start the next action, which mine does. Comments please.
This has been debated and no FAQ has been answered. Feel free to submit another.

Imo, I would say they are combined actions (combined, not parallel). While your gear does initiate the next action, it is also required to continue throughout the following action in order for the wingnut system to work.

Moreso, the gears are moveable objects that are used to complete 2 tasks. Each moveable object can only be used once.

Possibly if your gear dumps a weight/string to wind your wingnut you could avert this.

I would guess a gear system directly pulling the pulley system, or a golf ball from any number of tasks being used also throughout a pulley system counterweight would not be allowed either (although I am sure some ES's will allow and others will not).

Personally I would like the rule changed. Who cares if objects are used in multiple tasks or actions are combined. More creative ways to simplify this event.
Locked

Return to “Mission Possible B”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests