chalker wrote:<SNIP> Rule 6.c.iv. says time stops when any end effector is moved by anything besides stored energy in the device. When you drop a magnet or something else on the end of the arm, whether it is tethered by a string or not, it's going to be moved downwards by gravity, not energy stored in the device. <SNIP>
I actually find the second argument much more compelling than the first.28 wrote:<SNIP> i'd just like to mention that the energy is stored in the device in the form of gravitational potential energy. gravity isn't increasing the overall energy of the arm at all, the potential energy from gravity is just being converted into kinetic energy. also the conversion of gravitational potential energy is going to occur whenever any point of the arm changes altitude at all. sooo if gravitational potential energy were against the rules to use, not a single robot would be able to score because they wouldn't be able to move downward
Chalker's argument taken to its limit would prevent dropping ANY object ANY distance to be scored. I hate to use intent, because the original rules writers can't hardly agree the day after the rules are written, how can anyone else understand intent? But in this case... Doesn't seem that intent was likely...
But I don't think I need to use intent afterall . "28" point is excellent. The only reason the object can fall is the robot picked it up and gave it gravitational positional energy in the first place. If all else on the robot is correct, that came from internal sources. Where's the external source of energy?
Jeff Anderson
Livonia, MI

